madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Belstone Walk

3 hour circular walk around Belstone, Dartmoor. I didn't have to research a wet weather walk as it was dry and mild and occasionally sunny today! The walk had everything, I mean everything, you would want on a walk - fields full of sheep, rivers, a small waterfall, wooded areas, bridges, stiles, open moor and a nine stone " circle or cairn erected to surround a round burial barrow from the Bronze Age, or kistvaen, as they are named on Dartmoor." Plus a pub!!!It was a case of constant "oooh-ing"  and "ah-ing" at every turn - if I hadn't been with non-blipping Colurful Mai and Nellie of the woods it would have been a much longer walk!! 
The full walk can be seen here, with occasional glimpses of my two companions - mostly they are in the distance!! But at the 9 stones I did lie down with Nellie and take a moment - it was a lovely moment - either because it was nice to stop or because of the special atmosphere of the stones? I don't know but I did walk round and touch each stone and say "thank you" before I raced after Nellie and Mai!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.