Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Starry Night Over The Old Oak Tree

When we got home yesterday evening, the smoke alarms on all three floors were sounding. It transpired that the paint fumes had built up and activated them. On googling the subject I found that smoke alarms should normally be replaced after five years, and even the top grade ones are recommended to be changed after ten years. Ours had been in for about eighteen!

First thing this morning was to buy three good quality replacement ones which are mains operated with lithium battery back-up. Reading up on the subject was illuminating with figures suggesting at least 30% of smoke alarms were not in date or working correctly! I mention this for you to check yours if they've been in for years. It could save you or others lives.

Afterwards we went out to choose some carpets and then some supermarket shopping. The painter didn't leave until 6pm and we were due at friends who live in the next village for a meal at 6.30pm.

On leaving I still hadn't had time to take a blip. My wife mentioned how clear the sky was and asked if I was going to pop out! Her training is coming on nicely!

I drove to Lower Machen, to my favourite very old split oak tree and set up my tripod in a pitch black field. I've now learned my way around the camera by touch. It really was that black. I need to remember to take a torch!

The long exposure is taken with the Sony A7S and Zeiss 16-35 F4 lens for those interested.

She was correct - it really was a great night for stars. How many such nights has this Old Oak seen?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.