Lark Rise

I went to help my sister prepare funeral flowers for a friend. She did them beautifully, reflecting the woman's love of gardens. So much nicer than a formulaic Interflora offering.

Afterwards we went for a walk on Dengie marshes. It was gloriously sunny but with a biting wind. I was enchanted to hear the sound of larks. I have written here before about how the song affects me. My pic is just a lbj against the sky. Shame Blip doesn't have a soundtrack.

As we approached the sea wall we saw a large bird of prey but I wasn't quick enough to get a pic. I think it might have been a marsh harrier. Brent geese were wheeling above us, chattering quietly to one another. Little egrets were on the wing too. I was delighted to hear the jangling song of my first corn bunting of the season also.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.