BROKEN, BUT HOPEFULLY ON THE MEND!

I don't think Lent means that we can never laugh or smile and, of course, for Christians, there is a serious side as we contemplate the horror of the crucifixion of Jesus but then three days later we celebrate His glorious resurrection.

So "with tongue in cheek", I offer you today a letter that a certain person might have sent to his parents after an accident at camp.

Dear Mum and Dad,

Well, here I am in hospital with just about every bone in my body broken, but I am being very well looked after. The rest of the gang come in to see me every day to help me with my meals and tell me jokes to keep my spirits up.

You will be wondering what happened - well, you know me, always looking for an adventure - so when we were playing a game of hide and seek, I saw this very high wall, I decided that it would be a good idea to climb to the top and then I might be able to see where people were hiding.

I managed to climb the wall OK, with just a few scrapes to my knees and elbows, and there is rather a large hole in my jumper, but when I got to the top, the view wasn't as good as I thought it would be. So there I was, ten feet up and I then had the problem of getting down - should I call for someone to throw me a rope or just jump? I tried shouting, but no-one seemed to hear me, so as it was beginning to get dark, and I was a bit frightened, there was nothing for it but to jump!

I had forgotten that there were lots of rocks below and yes, you guessed, I smashed into them, and then, would you believe it, before I knew it, lots of people appeared and were very shocked to see me lying there. Someone called an ambulance and the rest, as they say, is history.

I guess the moral of this story is "don't start something unless you know you can finish it".

I have so many bandages on you would hardly recognise me, but fortunately, one of the gang took a photograph of me sitting on the wall before I fell, so here it is.

I hope to be home very soon to see you both and I am confident the doctors will be able to put me back together again, because I don't like being broken.

Your loving son,

Humpty Dumpty xxxx

I will give you back your health
and heal your wounds,” says the Lord.
Jeremiah 30:17
New Living Translation

P.S. For those interested, Humpty Dumpty belongs to our son and daughter-in-law and is a Kerry Darlington sculpture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.