DERELICT SUNDAY & MONO MONTH CHALLENGE

On another cold, wet, windy and miserable day, how pleased we were to go to church, to meet our friends and worship the God who never changes!

Our congregation was quite depleted this morning, but despite that we had a good time together and just before we went, we were able to speak to our son who lives in Thailand and also his girlfriend.  In fact, we sang "Happy Birthday" to them both, as their birthdays are within a week of each other.  

I had seen this dilapidated house the other day when I was on a bus travelling up the hill into the old part of Swindon and had earmarked it for today - still sticking with Derelict Sunday ON the day!

A few years ago, according to Zoopla, this 4 bedroom freehold, terraced property, with a double frontage, known as Oxford House, was on the market for £252,000 but I’m not sure anyone would pay that for it now.  I noticed that there was a “To Let” board outside the property next door, but I certainly wouldn’t like to live next door to a place like this.  When I saw it earlier in the week, I did see pigeons flying in and out of a broken window, so I dread to think what sort of mess is inside.  

Perhaps we need to look further than the outward appearance of this building though, and try to imagine what it would look like if it were restored to its former glory.  There is always hope - for buildings and people!

Learn from yesterday,
     live for today,
          hope for tomorrow.
Albert Einstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.