ANCESTORS - MONO MONDAY & MMC16

Ancestor - a person who was in someone’s family in past times - one of the people from whom a person is descended.

I have been researching both mine and Mr. HCB’s family trees for a few years now and it has been great fun, as well as being very frustrating at times.

I have managed to go back in Mr. HCB’s family to the 1700s and we have met some of his cousins who have given us lots of information, which has been great.

However, I haven’t been so fortunate because I cannot go back any further than my grandmother on my mother’s side and although many people have tried to help, we are still no further forward.  Of course, we could pay someone to try and find out but it is much more fun doing the research yourself - however, it would be good to know.

I have gone further back on my father’s side, but that has had its difficulties too as my parents were divorced when I was about 2 years old - my greatest sadness is that I didn’t know my father, have only one photograph of him and when I found him in the mid 1980s, he wouldn’t see me - and sadly he died without me ever meeting him. 

Wouldn’t it be great if everything was cut and dried and we could sort things out in our lives and our past?  Perhaps we should make sure that when our great great grandchildren are looking online, they can find out things about us without too much trouble!

I realise that some of the photographs on today’s Blip are not that good, but many years ago, photography wasn’t what it is today!

Genealogy Trivia
If you figure there’s 25 years
     between each generation,
          500 years ago there were
               1,048,576 people involved
                    in creating YOU!
YOU are special!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.