BEAUTIFUL - WITH BLEMISHES

Blemish : a small mark or flaw which spoils the appearance of something. 

It has been very wet, wild and windy down on the coast, and as my knee has been rather sore, we haven’t done too much walking, but whilst out this morning, we saw a beautiful and very large Camellia bush.  The blooms were very pretty and there were so many of them, it was a job to choose one to photograph.

Having taken quite a few photographs, and as it had started raining quite heavily, I decided that I would just have to make do with those, when I saw a bloom on the ground, so I picked it up and brought it home.

When we got home, I saw that this bloom had several blemishes - but I hadn’t noticed them and somehow that didn’t detract from the beauty. In fact, it made me look even more at the way the petals curled, the colours of each one and how they blended in with each other to make one beautiful bloom.

How do we feel about blemishes in people - do we look for them, or do we look beyond  them to see the beauty of the person, not only in their looks but in their character?  I know what I should do - but often end up doing the wrong thing.  Perhaps this "beautiful but blemished" bloom will teach me the lesson I need to learn.

God sees us with the eyes of a Father.
He sees our defects, errors and blemishes,
but He also sees our value.

Max Lucado

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.