A GOOD READ

"Young people…..did not know that lumpy, aged, and wrinkled bodies were as needy as their own young, firm ones, that love was not to be tossed away carelessly, as if it were a tart on a platter with others that got passed around again.  No, if love was available, one chose it, or didn’t choose it.  And if her platter had been full with the goodness of Henry (her husband who had died) and she had found it burdensome, had flicked it off crumbs at a time, it was because she had not known what one should know: that day after day was unconsciously squandered.”
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

I am an avid reader and this book was recommended to me by a fellow blipper.  I wasn’t sure whether it was going to be quite my thing, as I don’t really like short stories, although the main character, Olive Kitteridge, appears in most of those stories.

I reserved it at my local library and when I collected it, the librarian told me that they were going to use it at their next Book Club, so she was looking forward to reading it, which cheered me and made me enthusiastic about reading it too.

As I read mostly at bedtime, it has taken me quite a while, but it was a thoroughly enjoyable book, and as the “blurb” on the back of the book says, I did "laugh, nod in recognition, wince in pain and shed a tear or two.”

There were many memorable quotes, but this one on the very last page, jumped out at me, so as I collect quotes, I have copied it out so that I can look at it in again - as I grow older.

I always use a bookmark, and this one was given to me by Elizabeth, a very special friend - so whilst reading the book, I have remembered her.  

Life is good - and thank you, Subjunctive, for your recommendation.  Now I’ve finished this book, I need to find another - Elizabeth Strout has written more so I may even try another one of hers.

Have a great week, fellow blippers - and wherever you are, may the sun shine on you. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.