TINY TUESDAY

This isn’t just any old daffodil, this is Mr. HCB’s very first tiny daffodil!  Because Mr. HCB is as  much into the challenges for any given Blip day, he wondered if I would like to take a photograph of some of his tiniest seeds today.  However, I am having one or two issues with my new camera and the macro setting, so I decided that it might be best to leave those until I have had more practice.

He then said that there was one little daffodil that was out but I might have to prop it up so that I could see it properly.  I actually rather liked it drooping down with the raindrops on it, so here it is - not sure of the name, but whatever it’s called, it is small and beautifully formed.

Mr. HCB has now gone down to Southbourne with our older son and I think they will be having fun putting furniture together - rather them than me - we have come nearer to divorce trying to build wardrobes than anything else in our married life - mind you, I’m not sure I could manage to get down on the floor with knees like mine!

It’s a grey day today but the sight of that little daffodil will help to brighten it - and when the whole potful is blooming, it will be like a potful of sunshine!

I daresay that many of us can recite at least part of the poem “Daffodils” by William Wordsworth but when I was looking for a quote, I found this one by his sister, Dorothy.  It is said that as brother and sister, they were very close, so I wonder if he got his inspiration partly from her journal.  His poem was written in 1804, and this entry in her Grasmere Journal was made on 15th April 1802.  If you are interested, you can read more about Gowbarrow park/fell here.

"When we were in the woods beyond Gowbarrow park 
    we saw a few daffodils 
          close to the water side……
I never saw daffodils so beautiful 
     they grew among the mossy stones 
          about and about them, 
some rested their heads upon these stones 
     as on a pillow for weariness 
          and the rest tossed and reeled 
               and danced and seemed 
as if they verily laughed with the wind 
     that blew upon them over the lake, 
          they looked so gay ever glancing 
               ever changing."
Dorothy Wordsworth : 1771-1855

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.