But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Toadstools.

I went along to Newbattle with my mentee (yes, it really is the correct term, horrible though it is) to treat the bees he looks after for varroa. We found that there was no medication. After a chat about bees and exams, I took home some of the vital ingredient to make up some fresh.
It transpired that last Sunday, someone thought that he was the last person to need the stuff and so threw the remainder away. Since everybody was there for the AGM, it would have been easy to make enquiries first.

Afterwards, I retired to the woods with cameras and tripod to find... well, more of that on another occasion; I did find it, and on it were growing these little toadstools - yet to be identified. I have a kindle field guide to the blighters on the computer which is very useful, but the easiest route to a reliable ID is to do a word search of the book for the for references to its habitat, i.e. first find your tree. Without leaves, fruit or even a useful sample of bark, I am lost.
There are a heck of a lot of different species of fungus in Britain, and I don’t intend to plough through them all in the near future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.