Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Arriving in Lanjaron

The flight went well and Malaga airport was quiet and efficient.  I arrived several hours ahead of the group; their flight time had been changed.  Light and Land arranged a taxi to take me to Lanjaron. I had a few hours on my own to explore the village.

The hotel is tucked away behind the main street. I was lucky that Victor was on duty, because he is the only member of staff to speak English and he was not expecting me early. My room is spacious with a large bathroom and a view of the Sierra Nevadas.

I wandered the streets during siesta time and saw hardly a soul.  It was quite eerie.  It was about 13 degrees, so comfortable for me.

The white houses cluster together, jostling for position in the tiny crooked streets.  The footprint of the village is long and narrow.  Every so often there are small fountains of drinking water with a backdrop of words from Lorca on blue and white tiles.  Then I found a small square with sculptures and fountains in the centre.  I liked this elderly couple who have eyes only for each other. In the background children play in the water.  It was very difficult to photograph but I've tried to show the context.

The group did not arrive until quite late. I had found the restaurant by chance and had my meal, so I sat with them and chatted while they ate.  I think I had much the best deal today. Met Charlie Waite and Peter Hendrie - both delightful.

Tomorrow it's almond blossom time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.