Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Where am I?

I think it will be fairly obvious, but, if you are in any doubt, go to tonight's extra, taken in the golden hour.

I had a good journey south and even caught an earlier train than planned at Newcastle.

Interesting chat with two young men on their way to a 21st in Cambridge. One is an active member of the Labour party. He is also in the anti Fascist league but still described himself as being politically in the middle of the party.  I enjoyed listening to his thoughts about the current situation and the future.

Happily settled in my hotel, I had a rest, then ventured out for the South Bank. I love going to the National Theatre. Tonight the production was a play called Waste by Harley Granville-Barker, which was banned from being staged in its day. The ban centred on its "extremely outspoken reference to sexual relations", namely an illegal abortion.

It's a long and wordy play, difficult to bring off, but raises a lot of intriguing issues about relationships and power. Do we believe that the main character is truly "in love" with the bill for disestablishment of the church? He was not in love with his lover, that's for sure.

The politicians behaved as politicians are expected to, in order to save their own positions.

Time for bed before tomorrow's photographic adventure begins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.