Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sunday in London

It I had realised it was half term, I would not have ventured south until the schools opened again. Much as I love children, there were too many of them today, screaming and demanding, or looking bored.

It's been a great day. I went on one of the Shoreditch walks to see the street art and the grafitti. Dave, our guide, is a huge enthusiast and is very knowledgeable about the art. You can see him waxing lyrical about a painting in my extra.

We were a multi national group who went on the walk. Most were much younger than me and in pairs, but I struck up a conversation with Michelle from Canada, who is in the UK on an exchange to study business at the City Uni. I won't mention the women who barely smiled once and who kept waving her arms around to tell the rest of us to get out of her iPhone shots!!


I also went to see the Taylor Wessing Portrait Photography prize exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery and the Vogue exhibition at th same venue. It was heaving with people so patience was required. Both were well worth seeing.

On one of my tube journeys I was nearly opposite this disparate trio of men. One appeared to be correcting papers, and one was fast asleep, but kept falling fowards and then lurching back, bleary eyed. The guy in the middle fascinated me. It was only when I was back at the hotel I realised that one was not looking, one was covering his mouth and the third had unusual ears. Are you thinking what I am thinking? (I hope they would take it in good spirits if they saw themselves.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.