Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The god of reflective and mature love (Anteros)

Yes, this is the statue that in most people's minds is Eros, as he stands above the fountain on the edge of Picadilly Circus in London. I did not know that the sculptor said that his work was Eros' brother, Anteros.

This morning I went to see the Lee Miller exhibition at the Imperial War Museum. It's a superbly curated exhibition and I was able to take my time and reflect on the subject matter, Miller's photography and her life. Her early life experiences were very traumatic and the war took its terrible toll.

Nick Danziger has an exhibition of his work nearby. He photographed 11 women facing war and the effects of war between 2001 and 2011. More information here.

I was expecting to attend a talk by him this afternoon, but it is tomorrow........so I will return then.

I also went into the Holocaust exhibition. This was all too much after the first two.  Oddly enough I met a group of young Jewish men on my way back to the hotel. They were en route to a meeting to promote Israel and gave me a glossy brochure about it, presenting a view of a very tolerant and forward looking society.

I felt very sober after all of this. It was a glorious day in London with bright sunshine but a cold wind. On every pavement there is at least one person begging for money for food. It is very hard to walk past. As I sat and ate my evening meal, I watched one man on the pavement opposite. Two people approached with trolley and gave him a bag of food.

Tonight I watched Adrian Lester give a searing performance as Ira Aldridge, a 19th century black American actor in Red Velvet at the Garrick Theatre. More thoughts provoked.

Sitting next to me were a couple from Cumbria who have been involved in mime in the past and told me about the London Mime Festival. We talked about the Venice Carnival and other productions we had seen.

I feel as though there is too much to assimilate. I love being here but it's not an easy ride.

Mature and reflective love - where does that fit in to the picture?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.