Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

From Monet to Danziger

Today began with a visit to the Royal Academy for the new exhibition, Painting the Modern Garden. I had a 10am ticket along with  a lot of other people. I queued to have my bag checked and was moved to the back of a different queue. Then an officious official came over and barked said "Bag Search". I started to move off towards the bag search queue, saying I'd already been there, so why did they need to check it again, and received a lecture about how anyone who was reluctant to have a search would be perceived to be suspicious! Ouch. (Perhaps I just looked suspicious!) They are clearly on edge about possible terrorist attacks.

Once inside the crowds soon dissipated around the exhibition, which is a must-see. I had not realised that so many of the Impressionists were keen gardeners. The paintings are displayed on large walls in large rooms; exactly what they need. There is one room just for early Monet, one for late Monet and a third room where an enormous triptych of waterlilies has been brought back together, many years after it was first painted.

I walked from the RA to Admiralty Arch and then down the Mall to Buckingham Palace. I was just too late for the changing of the guard, but managed to catch a photo of the band before they dispersed (see extras). It was very cold but sunny and the crowds were happy.

I kept walking and had to hop on the tube at Waterloo to make sure I was at the Imperial War Museum in time for the Nick Danziger talk. I am so glad I went. I was very impressed with the way he talked about the different people he has met in many war zones and his concern for the ordinary people who are affected after wars officially end. See here
for more about Nick and his work. He has written about various journeys.

He uses a small Olympus camera, shooting digital for colour but film for mono work.

You will be pleased to know that I am having a quiet evening. My waitress tonight was from Romania so I told her about my visit. She produced her phone to show me images of herself in National costume.

The main image is of Joshua Reynolds on his plinth in front of the main doors of the Royal Academy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.