Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lucky shot

That is what this was ... I am still having fits with the D90 in terms of just not getting crisp shots.  I suspect the camera is in need of a good cleaning; at least I hope that is what it is.  So, when an osprey took off right over my head and I blindly fired off one shot ... it was with zero expectation.  Imagine my surprise when I got this up on my screen!  It's not as sharp as I'd like, but considering that it is uncropped and was done with virtually no time to focus ... well, I'm happy enough with it.  I always like it when I can get eye contact.

And, when I look back on my time in Florida, one of my most vivid memories will be of these beautiful raptors.  It seems like they are on every light pole on the causeways; and one can always hear the sounds of their piercing cry as they talk to one another, riding the thermals over the lakes and ocean.  This reminds me that, once the D600 is back, I must spend some serious time photographing osprey.  I still want that shot of one breaking the water with a fish in it's talons...

It's been beautiful out today - temps are pushing 80 and the humidity is up a bit, but it is finally sunny.  Yay!  Hubs went out this morning for a bike rid while I went over to Largo and then to Lake Seminole.  A bit later, we may go for a walk on the beach - yep, we'll even hold hands.  

Seven other shots from today posted on Flickr, starting HERE with a close up of a watersnake baby.  Skip it if you don't like snakes, but don't miss this one of the guardian of the heron colony...  Pretty cool.

Let's make it a great week!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.