Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Last day in Andalucia

I woke much too early this morning, but it did mean that I was up, packed and out for a walk before I went to the airport.

I visited the covered market for meat, fish, fruit and veg. I was hard pressed not to buy; everything looked so fresh and good quality.  A group of Danish school girls chatted to me. Their English was superb. I told them about my uncle whose plane was shot down during WWII. The crew are buried in the public cemetery in Kalundborg. Local people asked if the bodies could stay there after the war, instead of being moved to a War Graves Cemetery and the families agreed.

The bus left from near my hotel and the journey was fine. Then the first and only real problem of the whole holiday occurred.  I had to queue for nearly an hour to drop off my bag at the Easyjet counter. To my horror, it was overweight. This was a suprise because it was fine on the way out. Two lots of repacking later - and the time is ticking by - it was accepted.

Then I heard the delightful words - "we can take your hand luggage in the hold for no extra cost".  My hand luggage is nearly all camera equipment so I demured. It then became obvious that I might not have any choice because the plane was full.

I could feel myself "losing it".  In my case that means getting angry, not bursting into tears. The latter would have been much more effective!! 


Finally through security I was trying not to show my backpack. All around me a hen party was giving up their suitcases for the hold.  Thankfully I was told I could put my backpack under the seat in front. Don't know where my legs would have gone, but I smiled and thanked the assistant.

Finally on the plane,  a hot, sweaty agitated mess, fearing my money was in the hold and I could not buy a drink.  My backpack had a whole overhead locker to itself and  I found my purse!

At home there has been snow but it was sunny and bright.  Lovely to be here again.

PS Has anyone noticed anything odd about this picture??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.