Fatherly Pride

I met Bob here outside Home Bargains, waiting with his two year old and Emily here while his wife was inside shopping. Emily has only been in this world three weeks. You forget how very tiny young babies are. You actually forget much about those early baby years. It's hard to recall now how all those hours were spent because they merge together as one continuum of total responsibility and commitment to another human being. There is one thing I do clearly remember though, and that is expressed through the look on Bob's face here. A sense of wonder at the utter improbability of conception: that a bit of fun between the sheets has brought another human being into existence. How does that work? And then the incredible sense of pride, the love of all the attention, wanting to shout out to the world, "I made this ... with a bit of help, of course." Without doubt the best days of my life.

I've had two long days on this new software, fixing bugs, adding requested enhancements. I'm getting there - despite the usual (and unusual) distractions of the working day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.