Wide Angle View

This is the first of the new Wide Angle Wednesday as set by Hobbs.  I imagine there will be many and varied entries from the wider Blip community.  My image shows the tower of All Saints' Church in High Wycombe taken with my Sigma 10-24 Wide angle lens which I just happened to have with me whilst lunching with Daughter No 2 this afternoon. It was good to catch up on everything.

from the church's website:

There has been a Christian community in Wycombe for nearly 1000 years, and we, the present congregation, are the inheritors of their predecessors' task of building the Kingdom in this part of England. 



Bishop Wulfstan of Worcester consecrated the first church on the site over 900 years ago, at about the time of the Domesday survey. The builders used some materials from an even earlier age - it is still possible to see Roman stone in the walls, from a nearby 2nd century villa.

The building was extended during the reign of Henry II, when the church was bestowed on the Abbey of Godstow; it was rebuilt in 1275.


By 1509 the central tower was causing concern, and was taken down. A new tower was completed in 1522, and the pinnacles were added in 1755. The tower now contains a peal of thirteen bells.



In the early 1990s, repairs were carried out to the roof and interior plasterwork. The green glass, installed in the Victorian restoration, was replaced with the clear Georgian glass you see today, and the “temporary” wooden rostrum below the chancel steps (which had been with us for some thirty years) replaced by a fine stone plinth.

My luggage has now made it back home and was delivered to me this afternoon; I will put off the unpacking until tomorrow

Thank you to everyone who submitted to Mono Monday's theme of 'On the Move'.  All the entries were amazing - so creative and interesting - I have thoroughly enjoyed looking at them all.  I can only award FIVE hearts  today, although I could easily give away many more; this is definitely the hardest part of the host's role.

So my first 5 hearts go to:
Trisharooni, Skeena, (I just had to laugh at this as it was so close to my own experience) Majoayee, Winston Tales (this made me think of the huge, lumbering Airbus taking off) and Anneli.

Next week's theme for Mono Monday will be 'Exits & Entrances', so feel free to interpret this in any way you like.  Please tag entries mm58.  I will remind everyone with my Sunday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.