Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Stein & Dram

As some of you know, I lost the battery door of my Sony camera. I've wasted over an hour of my life on the Sony website, phoning their helpline, and warranty centre at Bridgend and Birmingham, and european centre in Egypt. The chap in Birmingham said they don't sell spares; I'd have to send the camera in and they'd have to order the part. Ridiculous really, when you consider that Sony's own battery grip for the Sony A7S requires the battery door to be re-moved!

Sony, I've nothing but contempt for you. You are about as useless as a smelly fart at a wedding! I told you I'd tell the world.

Whilst watching Rick Stein on tv earlier in the week, he was touring Australia where he lived when he was younger. He visited Tasmania and the Sullivans Cove Distillery. Last year, the distillery won the prestigious World's Best Single Malt Whisky (single cask french oak matured). The brewery were offered £20,000 for one of their last two bottles but refused to sell. I just fancied a bottle and it's out of stock everywhere. Their other whisky was selling at £90 and even a lot more. It so in demand that sellers are demanding £500 plus. I managed to get two small dram bottles. The courier said he'd delivered a couple on his round during the day. Must be the Stein influence!  I enjoyed it. Similiar to Jura.

I had my annual eye test today which necessitated the wife driving me home. As I have a family history of Glaucoma I had the eye dye drops. They tend to knock me a bit but this time I'm not too bad. I have to wait 15 mins after having the drops so got the optician to make me a cuppa coffee. Just have to train the dentist next!

For those interested, here's a precise of Sullivans Cove.......Sullivans Cove whisky was established in 1994 at Sullivans Cove in Hobart, the birthplace of Tasmanian whisky.  Sullivans Cove is the spot where the British first established the settlement that would grow into the City of Hobart. Being a penal colony, the locals were quite fond of a drink with 16 legal distilleries and countless illegal stills operating by 1824. However, in 1838 Governor John Franklin imposed a total prohibition on distilling that lasted 150 years and was only overturned in the early 1990s! Since then the Tasmanian whisky industry has developed into a small but significant force on the global scene.

Sullivans Cove is one of Tasmania’s most successful and widely distributed whiskies, available in 11 countries and the winner of some of the most prestigious international whisky awards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.