Into the reeds for the night

I needed to spend a large part of the day moving files into storage. Paper files in medium sized boxes. Heavy enough, and 27 needed shifting. Then a visit from daughter C and her two boys. Both a bit sad in their individual ways that we (but especially Granny) are going to be away for seven weeks. It is likely that S will not spend the whole time with me in New Plymouth, and will come back to Auckland at Easter for part at least of the two week school holiday which starts then.

Because there is international cricket on in Auckland this weekend, the rain came late this afternoon, which may prevent South Africa from batting their full number of overs. We need the rain, and cricket is often a good drought breaker in this country.

Late this afternoon I went down to Western Springs Lake and was pleased with what I saw and photographed. This photo of a pukeko which had headed into the reeds as I approached, appealed most to both S and me. It has not been further processed after being moved from SD card to computer.

I also recorded the next bird in my series for the year. Nø 43 is the Kawau tuawhenua (also known as the Great Cormorant, or Large Black Shag). It was diving repeatedly in the water near where I was. I managed a couple of interesting shots of the disturbed water as it dived, and another few of its head and neck. What convinced me of the identification, was the emerald green eye. 

Nation wide protests today against the secrecy of the negotiations ON OUR BEHALF (they tell us) for the TPPA. If it ends up as it is likely to, only the corporations will benefit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.