Dinner Guest

This is the closest I have ever got to a kookaburra in the wild.  I was trying not to shake too much as I took the image because this was not taken on a zoom lens, just the smaller Sony.

I first spotted the kookaburra sitting on the timber wall that surrounds the Billabong - right outside the kitchen window.  It was really difficult trying to take the images through the glass window.  Next thing I know, Kev Kookaburra has flown onto the tent pole that holds up the shade cloth outside the living room.  I already had some shots in the camera so I thought to myself - nothing to lose here.  I slowly opened the door and stepped outside.  Kev didn't budge so I started chatting away to him....as you do and nudged my way until I actually got this close to him.

I was so sorry the light was so poor, it was just on dusk and very low light.  I have CCN as my witness blippers and it was a magical moment for both of us.  I have a felling this little kookaburra may be fed by someone because he wasn't a bit fazed by me talking to him and walking so close to him.  

I have been absolutely delighted with the response to my image of the Pink Flannel Flower.  I am so pleased that I have been able to share it with so many blippers around the world.  That's one of the reasons I love this website.  Thanks so much for the lovely comments, stars and hearts that you have showered on this little jewel of nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.