Lazy Sunday...

Lazy but I was still up at 8am... on a Sunday with nowhere to be, that gets right on my wick.  However, I dare say Pepsi doing a good impression of Simon's cat again it's not a big surprise that I was awake so early.  

I got an email from one of the other residents in our block this morning. The person who bought the flat upstairs (you may remember they were responsible for this) has completely renovated and completely changed the layout of the flat by moving the kitchen and sitting room into the original bedroom and making the old kitchen and sitting room into two bedrooms. I think my neighbour's problem with that is that each flat is laid out pretty much in a carbon copy of the one underneath. This makes sense to have all the bedrooms on top of each other and all the sitting rooms underneath each other. I'm not sure what happens when someone decides to have a party when the person underneath is trying to sleep. The noise issues in these flats aren't exactly non-existent. I think I'd be pissed of if it was the flat above me. At the moment, the guy underneath has one of these surround sound systems and I often feel like I'm at the cinema. It's not pissed me off to the extent that I'm ready to knock on his door as yet but I dare say that will come and I'll don my Victor Meldrew hat once more. Neither of us know whether you need planning permission to do this or not, I guess it'll depend on whether they've removed supporting walls in the process. 

It seems from the rental advert that they've also cut a hole in the roof to put in a skylight. I'm fairly sure that given that they've messed with the fabric of the building, which is our concern, they really should have spoken to the other 15 flats before they started chopping holes in the roof. I don't have a massive issue with that though they should probably be grateful it's not PMT week mind, but I'm not entirely surprised that they didn't bother to ask. It would have been polite given that we're all responsible for the roof repairs but provided it's been done properly, I'm not really that bothered. 

I'm not sure where we stand legally given that it's a bit late now since the work has been finished but my neighbour is pissed off. After the mess they left in the garden and the common stair, I'd take a guess that she won't get very far other than being able to make their life a little difficult if they haven't declared to the Council that it's a rental property and registered as a Landlord. I've left it to my neighbour to contact the Council and I'll check through the title deeds with someone at work tomorrow to see where we stand. 

Drama. 

This is the little VW Beetle mug that FT bought me for Christmas. It's my new favourite. I've consumed a lot of coffee today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.