Arrivals

My first Dawn Raid of 2015! Reports of Curlews arriving on the Moors decided me on an early drive out to see if there were any locally, and sure enough, that plaintiff cry was on the wind within minutes of my arrival. There were distant sightings, but not landings in the fields as yet, but there was plenty to see - Red Grouse, Pied Wagtails, Chaffinches, Buzzards, Kestrel,  Pheasants, flocks of Starlings, Winter Thrushes possibly heading back to Scandinavia, Pink-footed Geese, Crows hanging on the breeze. It was somewhat dull and drizzly, so a short walk, then home for breakfast. Oh, and plenty of Lapwings checking out their nesting sites....
Only a matter of time before the Tree Pipits and Meadow Pipits put in appearances, and Snipe start to drum high overhead. The Swallows, Swifts Cuckoos and Nightjars will follow. But I'm getting ahead of myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.