Dracula....

....as played by the great Bela Lugosi! 
Tom spotted this picture a while back & said it would make a great blip, which I think it does.
There is a large, empty lot in the 3rd ward that once housed a foundry. The foundry was torn down about 2 years ago, & for whatever reason, the small building behind it was left standing. The foundry took up an entire city block & this whole block is now surrounded by a high chain link fence with a locked entrance & "no tresspassing" signs posted everywhere!  I have no idea who painted this picture---maybe someone who worked there at the time??--- but it's painted onto the bricks in  the left, lower front corner of that small abandoned  building.  You can see the weeds at the bottom, & some of the snow that still coats the whole lot. Whoever did it was very talented, as it's beautifully done!
I felt like a criminal as we drove up one side of the block & then the other, looking for "a weak spot" (Tom's verbage) in the fence---Tom, however, was enjoying himself immensely, & eventually found a split half way down the fence which he pulled further apart so I could slide myself through.  It's not like I couldn't be seen walking accross the lot, as the little building faces the busiest street, but I made a beeline for the front, took the picture & beelined it back out, seeing as how it's posted "no tresspassing".  Hopped in the car with my get-away driver, & a few minutes later as we're driving home we heard a siren in the distance (turned out it was a fire truck)----but Tom looks at me & says "I called & reported you for tresspassing & they're coming for you", & starts laughing! A totally enjoyable morning! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.