carliewired

By carliewired

Good-byes at the Artists' Association

A business meeting,
show and tell plus snacks and drinks,
I say my good-byes

~ carliewired

I had really hoped to have more time to paint this winter. I'd also hoped to find a painting class within our association. I've been disappointed on both counts. 

The club contributes well in the local community with events and scholarships. It struggles with leadership in some areas, not unlike some of the groups I know at home. We are currently missing some key table officers. It is often a struggle to get people to commit. In this instance, many members are somewhat transient, like myself. The season here is short, if not sweet. This year our elected president has had to withdraw due to a health crisis. 

The group struggles to increase/maintain membership. We are an aging group. We presently meet during a workday. This may well exclude people who are in the workforce. I am very much a newbie here so I will not vocalize too many criticisms. I'm not prepared to step into a position so I need to bite my tongue.  

I look forward to next season. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.