The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

To be up in the grandstand...

It's National hunt racing's Cheltenham Gold Cup week. All the Irish trainers, owners and punters have congregated on Cheltenham to spend money, drink Guinness, and bet on the gee gees. The Irish republican tricoleur flag will be flown all over the town. In my childhood it was rarely seen flying 'abroad' because of the Troubles. I missed seeing it on every single display.

I grew up in Co. Dublin, and on race days I could hear the tannoy from Leopardstown race course. So my heart's in Cheltenham this week. I have been known to have the odd flutter, and to lead respectable friends to the bookies, wallets in hand. Maybe I'll pop into this Ladbroke's on my way to work on Friday (Gold Cup Day) since it's open so early.

This is another Gloucester Street blip. Gloucester Street is my One street. In other Street news, Helen G fashions is still closing down, but all stock is now reduced by 75%, including a lady's suit in a virulent shade of puce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.