Double Peckers

Okay I know. I'm skating on the edge with this title... but really. How many days can you say you have two woodpeckers on your bird feeders at the same time? In my case, once. Today. I was home from painting and thinking of blipping my partially finished new painting, when what did I see out the kitchen window? A female hairy woodpecker hanging out on the suet. Wow! First one of those I've seen on my deck. Then in flew a male red shafted northern flicker. Double wow! Of course I took photos through the window. The flicker seemed to be looking right at me as I did. The hairy gal just kept on chowing down. I think she knew her time on the suet was short. The flicker is much bigger and soon sent her on her way so he could eat his fill.

About yesterday's blip... gosh! I am very happy with all the stars, hearts and wonderful comments you made. I am so glad you liked it. There is something so sweet about Arvin and Kaelyn's interactions. He is a very sweet man and he is charmed by little girls and loves to talk to them. Kaelyn is bright and very perceptive and imaginative. Makes for a perfect combination. Thanks for your thoughts about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.