I KNOW THAT SPRING IS COMING.....

…..because there is blossom on my ornamental cherry tree.

Our bedroom window looks down onto the garden and this morning I saw blossom on the cherry tree, so was out there like a shot to bring a branch indoors and photograph the flower.

I have never really looked that closely at a cherry blossom before, so never realised just how beautiful it is.  I guess it’s the same with people, we don’t get to know them very well and often don’t realise the depth of their beauty - and I’m not just talking about outward beauty, but also their inner beauty.

I went out this morning with R. a young friend - for coffee, of course - and she is beautiful both inside and out.  She will be starting a new life at university in the autumn and as exciting as that is, it is also a time of change for the whole family.  I hope that I was able to encourage her and look forward to seeing her growing and developing as she starts on this new adventure in her life. Interestingly, she asked if I would look after her mum when she goes - she is so thoughtful and I pray she gets into the university of her choice - but wherever she goes, we both know that God will go with her.

When I was in the library yesterday, I picked up a book entitled “Letter to My Daughter” by Maya Angelou - and this is one of her quotes - R. was definitely a rainbow in my cloud today!

You may not control all the events that happen to you,
          but you can decide not to be reduced by them.
Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.
     Do not complain.
Make every effort to change things 
     you do not like.
If you cannot make a change,
     change the way you have been thinking.
You might find a new solution.

Thank you for your comments and stars yesterday - apparently, David was “well chuffed and very proud” so I have promised to print off a copy of the photograph for him to keep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.