The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

I spread my bets

and backed a winner! After a lunch with my friend Angela, recently returned from India, we headed off to the bookies' to watch the race. Far too long since I'd been in there for a big occasion: the last time I watched the Gold Cup in Ladbroke's must have been the year after the smoking ban was introduced. The betting shop was full of tubs of Cadbury's Heroes (sweets) to help the quitters sustain the anxiety of watching the race! Today I was disappointed to find neither a smoky fug nor a tub of Heroes. We can be silent, stiffer upper lip heroes now, it seems.

One of my chosen horses romped home: there was no struggle, no neck-and-necking, so I still have all my fingernails.
Went home to write my mother's day card and post it. Of Comic Relief/ Red Nose day I will say little, except that one day I'll find the other events of today darkly comedic. Still, far too many big events in one weekend!

I apologise for the boring nature of my blips lately. It's because my workplace has imposed a blanket ban on talking about work on social media. As I spend one-third of my life at work , and have always felt that work informs a major part of my life, the ban has rendered me temporarily speechless. I will find my voice again, but may never again be able to tell jokes. Some may be grateful for this.

As I'm coming up to a big blip day, this restriction is making me question my raison d'etre on blipfoto. I may start another very anonymous blog elsewhere. One that no one looks at. There must be hundreds out there that never get read! I do want to preserve my stories and words for the life-book that one day will be published in some shape or form, so it feels important to keep writing and stick to the discipline of self-publishing, even if the words are falling into a seemingly bottomless pit. If I don't force myself to publish the stories online, as a starter, they will remain untold. And, to a certain extent, a part of my life will remain unlived.

As for the photos, I'm afraid they've been sh*t too. You strike the writer, you hurt the camera person. If I unlink my blip account from FB, I will lose the feedback from my non-blipping friends who tell me they keep abreast of me via my blip posts.

Enough already! It's the weekend. Can't come soon enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.