The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Concerned

I fear that our days here on Blipfoto are numbered, if the comments on the forums add up to anything. Silence from BlipCentral is worrying. This might also explain the blip-apathy I've been experiencing.

For those who want to keep in touch, I'm Helena Petre on Facebook, or helena1@mail.com. I'm also looking at an online journalling app that sounds a bit Japanese (something -zu) but I think it might be private. Haven't figured it out yet.

UPDATE: I have created an account at 365project (see comments below) with the name woodpeckers, but haven't uploaded anything yet.

My 1000th birthday is next Tuesday. Hope we make it that far.

This little catty-pillow, as my nephew christened it when he was a toddler, often gets mistaken for a real cat, oddly enough. I bought it as a cushion-kit in Pollock's toy museum near Goodge Street underground station in London in 1991, with my friend Janet. We'd gone to the Bethnal Green museum of Childhood, but found it unaccountably closed, so headed off to town on the Central Line instead. I still miss the Central Line. But not often.

Soon after the catty-pillow was completed, my ex's cat came to live with me for a while. He was ginger, and called Mr Kit. I had to train him not to suckle my earlobes of a morning. He was the first cat I'd had sole responsiblity for, and I found the experience as nerve-racking as looking after a newborn baby, doubtless because my flat and neighbourhood was so unsuitable, and I was out at work all day. By the Grace of Somebody, he was able to return to the safety of Peckham after a few months!

Eventually he and his owner moved to Northumberland in the late 90s. I saw him settled there in 2002, but unfortunately he had a nasty enncounter with a car on the main road in 2003. Maybe the rural lifestyle wasn't any safer, really.

Today I did three loads of washing. I filled up five bird feeders. And watched one and a half episodes of Mapp and Lucia (1980s series). That, dear readers, is all. Saturday are all right for lazing, when I finally manage to switch off the guilt button.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.