Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Quietly in the shadows

Nancy, one of our walkers, died yesterday. She was a very active member of the Haltwhistle community over the years, and I knew her, both as a walker and because she chaired the Walking Festival Committee when I joined. She was a quiet, unassuming person, who did not have a lot to say, but when she did speak her words were considered and wise.

She, a non smoker, has been battling lung cancer that was advanced when diagnosed, but her death came earlier than we expected.

So here are a few beautiful quince flowers in memory of lovely Nancy.

My dripping nose pales into insignificance, but is still dripping,  on day 4 of the cold.  I have no energy, but was determined to walk around the garden this afternoon. What a joy. There are primulas blooming and pulmonaria. The first daffs are showing colour and a few snowdrops are still in bloom. Both cats joined me and we found signs of hedgehog activity with plenty of poo on the patio.

I have opened a 365project account, just in case Blip goes down. I don't need to save my photos from here, but I'd like to save my words. This is the first time I have managed to keep a diary for more than a few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.