Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A single image

Lying in bed this morning I read an article by Andrew Sanderson. I'd never heard of him and I was fascinated by his way of thinking.

I don't agree with everything he says, particularly about repeatedly photographed iconic images, but I liked the idea of producing a simple, single image, just for its own sake.

I enjoy working with a project format and will continue to do so, but I just looked around the bedroom to see what might inspire me.  I embroidered this picture of summer a few years ago. The lamp came from - well I'm not sure (Mum will no doubt help with that) and the shade was on a completely different lamp at one time. I crocheted the circular mat when I was in a crocheting phase (many years ago). Notice that I did not follow Ikea's exhortation to throw away the chinz!

The lighting proved tricky because there are 4 windows and 2 doors in the room. The reflections in the glass were a nuisance.

I also tried it in mono and with a much shallower depth of field, but opted for this.

I've been at home - must get out more - processing Venice pictures to send to the people who gave me their details. It's taking longer than I imagined.

Photo Club tonight. It's the last of the A competitions. I did not submit anything due to lack of time, so there is no pressure on me tonight. I'll enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.