Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pooped

While this may look like a disaster has befallen the Black Skimmer, he is actually just fine.  He just got tired of holding that big old beak up while he snoozed.  I've learned that the young skimmers will lay their entire heads on the sand like this, so most likely this is one of last year's brood.  I managed to get a shot of this once before but it wasn't all that good.  I'm pretty happy with this one and figured I'd best blip it since I won't be seeing many any skimmers, much less sleeping ones, when I return to northern NJ!

Six other shots from today at Fort DeSoto posted on Flickr, starting here
My personal second favorite shot from today is this one of a pelican fall-out

Going to keep today's journal short as I have much to do this evening.  I see that the drama continues with Blipfoto.  But, I thank Graham Colling for his very thoughtful and wise post.  Please head over and give it a read.  I hope that calmer heads will prevail.  I, for one, intend to stay here until such time as "here" doesn't exist - something I hope won't happen.  Yes, I've created a contingency account elsewhere, but I plan to continue with Blip for now.  Hope you will, too.

Be well, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.