Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Aurora Borealis

My first ever capture on camera of the aurora. I had the warning yesterday lunchtime to say massive geomagnetic storm in progress so likely to get some aurora. I forgot until about 9pm and went out to see a green glow to the sky. I set up the camera for long exposure shots and hoped for the best. Its amazing how much more the camera picks up than your naked eye. I have lightened this picture  to show the colours. I think I didn't quite have the settings right on the camera but pleased to have got what I got. Its not a blip forever photo but I'm here still blipping!!

Had quite a successful day today. Husband and I went back to the hill on the farm where we manage the livestock to check for some missing sheep. What we call back gathering. We were finding nothing and had all but giving up when the dogs began indicating something. It wasn't what we were looking for but we were fortunate to come across a 2year old highland heifer(female) cow stuck in a bog. Husband and I worked together to slowly drag her out and then roll her over away from the bog. She was cold and a bit wobbly on her feet initially but after 5 minutes she began grazing. We stayed with her for a while to check she was able to stand for a prolonged time. Thankfully its lovely and sunny so hopefully with some grass and the sun she should warm up. There would have been no way to bring her home from where she was. She is a very fortunate girl that we found her when we did as it was well off the beaten track. After that we rounded the next corner to find a group of 12 sheep so we took them home with us. That brings our count as close as we can get it. We could spend weeks looking for odd ones or twos now so we wont. Its normal not to get everything gathered. Happy tired dogs tonight!

11c 2 mph S lovely sunny day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.