Worst Eclipse Picture Ever!!

It was Miss E's class assembly this morning. It was the story of Easter with lots of singing and actions. Very sweet!
I took Miss L into her classroom just before 9am and asked the teacher if she - Miss L - could come to watch her sister's assembly. When she said yes I said I'd be back in half an hour or so to get her. Luckily at that point Mrs S pointed out that the assembly was at 9am not 9.30am!
I've said before, it's a wonder I get through the day sometimes!!!
After the assembly we headed out into the gloomy light and I was struck by the dramatic drop in temperature. 
We all went out onto the back field and I had to laugh - there were people with enormous posh cameras and telescopes and proper glasses (as well as the children with their paper and pin holes, colanders and huge cardboard boxes!!)
I had a 50mm lens on which clearly wasn't ideal for capturing the crescent shaped sun!!!
One of the mum's kindly offered me a pair of eclipse glasses and after a fair bit of faffing I managed to see it clearly. Yay!!
I remember the last eclipse in 1999 as if it were yesterday. My brother and I sat outside in my mum and dad's garden. We couldn't see the sun but I remember the eeriness as it went dark in the middle of the day, the birds stopped singing and the temperature plummeted. Amazing.
I am currently planning our trip to the US in August 2017!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.