Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Home...

"Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in."

Robert Frost

aprecious says I have been as mad as cheese since I got back and she is looking into sending me to The Home For Wayward Dogs. I don't want to go. And I think she would be making a mistake because I would no doubt pick up a whole new bag of tricks spending time with other wayward dogs. I don't think she's thought this through.

It isn't my fault really.

Firstly, there is a dog barking out there all hours of the day and night and I'm just joining in. He's singing the bass, and I'm adding a bit of alto and together we are making fine dog music. aprecious keeps asking why on earth is that dog out in the middle of the night, and I think she makes a good point, for a human. I need my beauty sleep too.

Secondly, I have discovered the rest of the garden. There is a whole patch of ground with many trees and I can smell the scent of the beasties who keep winding me up in the night. Foxes? Badgers? I have run around and around there (and may have developed a bit of selective hearing) and I was right! They are there. Not exactly sure what I would do if I actually came face to face with a fox. Or a badger. Probably ask them if they'd like a nice cup of tea and a scone. That would be the civilised thing to do. Right? Or I might just chase them. Not catch them - no. Just chase them. And bounce.

Would I be sent to The Home for Wayward Dogs for a long time if I did?

Today's blip comes to you from a rejuvenated full time student who has put in an offer for a camper van. Ha ha. I will go and see it and it might be too big. It is nothing like the camper vans featured yesterday but it is in good nick and very cheap. I have thought a lot about 'home' over the last few days and what it means and know that we are lucky to live in a beautiful place and in a beautiful house with 3/4 of an acre on a peppercorn rent. It is peppercorn because it is not useful land for building or growing, and amounts to space. We love it. One of the great beauties of Rossendale is that you get a lot of house for your money. When the Todmorden Curve (bit of railway that joins Burnley to Todmorden line) is built in 2014 and East Lancashire is joined to Manchester, the commuters will come and maybe things will change then.

I am away to a tutorial in Coventry today. The student life eh?

Today's blip was inspired by Justbe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.