Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Who You Looking At?

Please take a peek over at the  gorgeous hovering hummingbird I posted a few minutes ago.  The sun was a bit bright, but it is really nice, I think.

I had what you might expect as the typical shot identifying this bird as a female Cardinal.  Everyone knows what a Cardinal looks like from a side view. But this one just was too funny for me to pass up as my blip.

Just look at that Jimmy Durante nose.  How could you not laugh at that schnozzola!  He's looking in my direction as if he's thinking, "Is there a human hiding behind that chair?"  And he would be correct.
 
 I hate taking photos through the windows and wanted desperately to sit outdoors to do so. So I have taken my fellow blippers advice and devised a blind of sorts. My patio furniture has big cushions which are a shade of brown with beige stripes.  I have pulled one close to the front of me.  I also put on a shirt that is very similar to the color of the chair. (I should probably wash it soon.) 


I move as little as possible, of course, and when I do, it is very slowly even if it means missing a shot.  Then those birds will return. That means I haven't permanently scared them away!  The small birds have been coming to the dish because I keep the camera rested on the chair. 

I  stayed out there for hours this morning.  I will be able to do that at least until May, when it gets really hot. It's all my diabolical plot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.