Sandbach Crosses

I had to be in Sandbach this morning. Not only had my work never taken me there (why should it) .... nothing had ever taken me there. Excepting a couple of times we had diverted off the M6 on the way home to visit a well known supermarket on the edge of town.

Setting off I got a call to say J17 was closed, so I had to stop and look at the road atlas to work out an alternative route - hello Winsford and Middlewich. Arriving still a bit early I walked into the centre for a quick look.

It's an interesting centre. The two 9th century Anglo Saxon crosses are amongst the attractions. They were brought here in medieval times, broken up and sent to the corners of Cheshire during the Civil War, and then reconstituted by a Cheshire historian in the early 19th century. And now they are grade 1 listed, the responsibility of English Heritage (see Tuesday - the new EH becomes a charity separate from government next week), and one of the town's attractions.

Not a good morning for photo's - grey, drizzly, and me in a hurry to get to my eventual destination on time. But this will do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.