I FEEL A CRUMBLE COMING ON!

It was a beautiful morning, so of course, Mr. HCB was out in the garden - he has seeds coming out of his ears - well not literally, you understand, but it seems that everything he has planted has come up, so he is delighted.  Now begins the big shift from the conservatory to the greenhouse - he took four pots at a time, so I asked him why he didn’t get a large tray and take more and his response was that it was good exercise.  Who am I to argue with that?

I went out in the new car this morning, on my own, which was good - it will take some getting used to because being short, I can’t see where the bonnet finishes, but I’m sure it won’t take me too long.  I’m quite determined.

When I got back I had a little wander round the garden and spotted the rhubarb coming up and felt a crumble coming on - shame there isn’t enough just at the moment, but now we are having more sunshine, we won’t have to wait too much longer.  You can even see the little strawberry leaves - so strawberries and cream sounds good too!

Made me think that we are a bit like that - after being wrapped up all winter against the cold (unless you live in sunnier climes, of course!) we can begin to leave off our winter garb and get out the summer clothes ready for the hot weather.  

Spiritually we can feel a bit like that too - perhaps we have got in a rut with our bible reading or praying and perhaps we need a little “push” to re-ignite that spark into a flame.  What better time than Easter, when we celebrate not only new life in our gardens but also new life in the resurrection of our Lord.  

I’m excited to see all the plants beginning to burst out with new growth, and I am also excited to find out what God is planning to do in my life - every day is a new opportunity to grow, to make new decisions and to move on - and it’s never boring!

I now have a date for my operation of 13th May, so hopefully, after that, I will be able to go out and help Mr. HCB in the garden - I can’t wait!

“The only way that we can live, 
is if we grow. 
The only way that we can grow 
is if we change. 
The only way that we can change 
is if we learn. 
The only way we can learn 
is if we are exposed. 
And the only way that we can become exposed 
is if we throw ourselves out into the open. 
Do it. 
Throw yourself.” 
C. Joybell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.