MEET MICHAEL

I had no idea there were comfortable sofas in our town centre - probably because I am usually dashing around.  However, as I went up the escalator in the town centre today, sitting comfortably and looking like a "master of all he surveyed" was this gentleman, whose name I found out later was Michael.

He looked very friendly, so I smiled at him and he smiled back. We then had a delightful conversation for a few minutes during which I discovered he went to a local Catholic Church and knew a lady I used to work with, who attends the same church.

I said I was a Christian and we then had talked about Easter and its significance. Michael told me he had been to the Swindon Interfaith Group meeting earlier in the week so another conversation ensued about that.

What an interesting 15 minutes - I'm so glad I'm retired and can do this sort of thing without worrying about the time.

I plucked up courage to ask if I could take his photograph, explained about Blip - and here he is, having willingly agreed.  I shall be looking out for him next time I'm in town. 

"Great minds discuss ideas.
Average minds discuss events.
Small minds discuss people."
Eleanor Roosevelt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.