Big Tree, Blue Sea

Spring has begun to come to the marsh. The snow is mostly melted, and the red-winged blackbirds are finding their way back home. The water is flowing a bit high in Thompson Run (OK, so this body of water may not be the sea after all, but it'll do for now), and it serves as a fine medium for making reflections.

This is a slightly different view of Millbrook than I've posted before. To get it, I was crouching beneath the wooden bridge that I have photographed so often - leaning my head against the bridge, actually, to steady myself - with one foot in mud and the other in water. Standing carefully, balancing, as one does, trying to get a good angle without getting an accidental soaking.

A line of trees is reflected on the water along the right, near the spot where the kingfisher often sits. And of course in the middle of everything are Millbrook's trademark golden reeds, grasses, and cattails. In the upper left corner of the shot stands one of the biggest trees in the marsh. I believe it to be a Bur oak: the one, in fact, upon which a red-tailed hawk perched one day a few years ago, offering me a great photo op while it hunted for its next meal.

The song to accompany this image is Big Tree, Blue Sea, by Golden Earring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.