Incredibish

By Incredibish

Making Mythology

Tonight was all about music rather than the visual arts, and the weather earlier in the day hadn't enthused me sufficiently to go looking for a blip. So, in Cheltenham on our way to the Everyman to see Roy Bailey, we passed the Hare and Minotaur by Sophie Ryder. This ten foot tall sculpture was supposed to be a temporary art placement, but when the time came to remove it the local residents and shoppers campaigned for it's permanent display, and bought it for the town.

I could have blipped a picture of Roy Bailey and I, but in truth Happy_Janwen took it so it could be her blip - although I suspect she has something better. 

Roy is almost eighty, but still holds his audiences captive with beautiful songs and tales of dissent and workers solidarity against the cudgels of tyranny and capitalism. He also has a fine repertoire of children's songs, and many years ago I recall SmileyCharlie going up to him in a late night adult filled auditorium and asking him to sing "you need skin", which he duly did. As I listened to him this evening I was drawn back in time through so many events in my life for which his songs provided the background. Fab bloke. This evening he was again partnered with the excellent Marc Block.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.