Shared Pleasures

My daughter M and I had a great time together in the Ballard  neighborhood of Seattle today! 

We'd purchased coupons several months ago for special pricing on "ultimate pedicures" at Habitude, a very nice salon, spa, and gallery. I've had one other pedicure in my life, at a local place here last year, and had never been in a spa before, so I was a little anxious. I was pleased to see that the focus at Habitude was on foot and lower leg comfort, as well as appearance, rather than on selling products. M and I have already agreed that we'll do this again.

(Warning: Do not read further if you're hungry.)

Before and after Habitude, we fell in love with Hot Cakes Molten Chocolate Cakery a few blocks away, where we fortified ourselves first with hot chocolate and a shared cookie (admittedly a large one), while admiring some of the unusual chocolate offerings (the sample chocolate chip was delicious!) and the fascinating drinks list I blipped today.  (I want to try the Laphroaig and smoked chocolate shake.)

After our pedicures, instead of trying another Ballard eatery, we returned to Hot Cakes for a late lunch/early dinner, sharing a wonderful kale/roasted sweet potato/farro salad and a sumptuous macaroni and cheese, followed by their one of their eponymous molten chocolate cakes, served with Hot Cakes' own caramel sauce and local ice cream. There are several more choices at Hot Cakes that are high on my "bucket list,"  including the "chocolate puddin' " with olive oil, bread crumbs, and cream. 

I'll be sure to blip it if I do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.