Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Imagine

Today was a good day with a lovely social lunch in the middle.  However, on my journeying I had to walk through here so you have another blip of this quiet corner of old Winchester.

What you're looking at is the main gate into the cathedral's Inner Close.  It was built in the 15th century and still has its original doors which are closed and locked each night.  It's known as the Prior's Gate as, until the Dissolution under Henry VIII, there was a Priory on this side of the cathedral.

Beyond it you see the Pilgrims' Hall (c1308).  Originally pilgrims coming to Winchester would have come through Kingsgate (just to the right of where I was standing to take this), given thanks for their safe arrival in the tiny church above the gate, then walked through this gateway and into Pilgrims' Hall for food and accommodation.  That, at least, is how I understand it.  I try to imagine how it must have felt, that arrival.  Whatever religion you had or didn't have, it must have been exciting.  And something of a holiday.  Today we jet off to the Seychelles instead.  Or Ibiza.  A bit the same?  Or not..

Tomorrow I have to go further afield on a bank job (no, not that sort of bank job, what were you thinking?) so I will try and come home with something a bit different.  At least, that's the challenge I've set myself.

Happy days  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.