Corinth Canal

We woke early and had a delicious breakfast at the hotel. Petra's group gathered and took off in a large bus for a tour of the center of Athens. Our local guide then took us on a walking tour into the oldest part of the city willed with small shops and some old buildings and new.

We ended the walk near the new Acropolis museum. Arvin and I joined a couple of gals and walked up to the museum. It is beautiful and has a great view of the Parthenon from a large viewing room.

We walked back down and stopped for coffee before searching for an ATM. We tried five of them but they all said there was some kind of problem with our bank. So no euros.

We then walked toward the bus meeting spot and saw members of the group so we stopped for a cold drink and sat and talked. The bus took us to Pireus for lunch at Zorba Restaurant along the water. It was a beautiful spot.

After lunch we drove to the dock where we boarded Athena where we joined the group in a safety orientation. We looked like a flock of orange birds in our life jackets.

The boat headed off for the Corinth Canal, a six km canal that connects the Mediteranian and the Ionian Seas. We passed through the canal at sunset. It was a beautiful sights. Ahead of us was the guide boat. The sun set just as we came out the other side of the canal. It was a beautiful sight.

Next came dinner. We had much more food than needed, as usual. It was all delicious and we enjoyed our conversation with Alan and Susan, Kay and another gal whose name I do not remember. We had a great time.

The seas got a bit rough so we all headed to our cabins for an early night. I fell asleep before ten o'clock. Arvin too. I woke early, 3:30, and dressed. I spent the rest of the morning in the lounge trying to post my blip. No such luck.

It is not possible to upload blips from the ship so my blipping will be spotty at best. Luckily I can do it when we are off the ship. I won't be able to comment at all. Just know I wish I could and thanks for all the stars, hearts and comments on my 2500th blip. I will return to full service after the cruise... I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.