Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Spittin'

I thought I would take my first ride down to Sahuarita Lake this morning (after my Internet Provider technician replaced my modem and router).  When I arrived, I followed this Great-tailed Grackle, strutting from the parking lot all the way down to the lake and watched as he hopped up onto a boulder overhanging the water.

He dipped his beak into the cool water several times to get a drink.  Then he surprised me (and I was glad I was poised to shoot).  He took a big gulp , swiveled his head to the right then wildly whipped it back and forth, letting the water spew from his beak as he did.

It was impossible to get his head completely in focus as he did this.  Just as in yesterday's spinning blip, when these birds want to move their heads quickly like this, there's no catching them (unless you're on a really fast speed - which is beyond my abilities/equipment so far).

I want to say that I am grateful for the Stylish Firefox Add-on.  I have been using the rxs blipfoto mod which is the grey background.  Without it, I would have had to leave Blipfoto months ago because of the white background.  I can't stand the phone app and you have to sign into the website each time you want to use your iPad.  Blipfoto is a mess on the iPad.  I hope that can be fixed by the new owners.

Just wanted  needed to share...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.