Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Marla

Marla is my happy, but occasionally  wee bit forgetful, friend.

We both have calendars which would drive any retired person to long to re-join the workforce.  But we found one day, two weeks in advance, which we both had free.  We marked it down as a date for lunch.  Noon at Marla's house today.

When I showed up at her door her jaw dropped.  She had forgotten it was our day and was engrossed in her work on the computer.  It seemed that even though she said she was putting it on her Google calendar as we spoke on the phone, it must have been the wrong week or even the wrong month!

She saved the day, however, by whipping up a delicious salad and coffee.  We sat outside and talked for hours, losing track of the time.  I always enjoy my time with Marla, whether she feeds me or not.  I wish we were able to get together more often.  But I will take these moments when I can get them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.