Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Maesycwmmer Viaduct

After collecting my photograph from the printers (I normally do them myself but for £2.50 for a 12" x 8" I decided to let Jessop have a go), I headed for the Framers. I have used Stuart (MG Framing in Risca) for many years, when I did paintings. My last painting was in 2005. Now it's all photographs to exhibit my creative tendencies. He's a lovely bloke and I just let him chose the frame and border as he's good at knowing what suits.

I then headed home past Maesycwmmer Viaduct(Maes (field) + cwmwr (footbridge)), near Ystrad Mynach. It's an impressive structure and I've been wanting a picture of it for a while. It's difficult to get it in one photograph, or even get into position to even attempt it. This is where aerial photography is so useful.

Maesycwmmer is still overshadowed by the vast Viaduct which dates from 1853 and which carried the Taff Vale Extension of the Newport, Abergavenny and Hereford railway over the Rhymney Valley. In 2000 the viaduct was re-opened for public pedestrian access.

Today the village features the "Wheel o Drams" (locally known as "The Stargate") sculpture by Andy Hazell, an unusual piece of modern art formed from a circle of coalmining dram trucks to commemorate the industrial heritage of this locality within the history of the South Wales valleys.






 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.