I deserve a medal now.

After an enormous amount of head-scratching, I've at last been able to figure out how to hang these medals which belonged to my Granddad.
It has taken me several hours all told, but at least they look ok now. I do hope no-one tells me that I've mixed up which medal goes with which ribbon, or the order they are displayed etc. If they do - they'll have to stay that way. This I believe will the first time that these medals have ever been worn.
I had sore fingers when I started (see yesterday's blip) but they're even more sore now. I turned the medals over at one point and was horrified to see that one finger had bled - and yes, you've guessed it, it was on the white stripe of the one on the left (the 1914-15 Star I believe it's called). It couldn't have gone on a dark bit could it? I've managed to remove it with cold water and a kitchen towel.
I shall be taking part in the ceremony to commemorate the centenary of Gallipoli on Saturday morning at the Cenotaph. I received an invitation as the descendant of someone who fought at Gallipoli - my Granddad. He developed frostbite with the terrible conditions in the trenches, and lost 8 of his toes, but was far far luckier than many. I won't tell you the full story but suffice to say that it's a bit gory. 
Unfortunately I can't take any photos at the ceremony, but hopefully Nikonabike will. He's just started to use his camera again after dislocating his shoulder at the beginning of March.
Twice to London in one week! I think that's a lifetime record for me. According to the weather forecast, it looks like it's going to rain on our parade though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.